Last Updated on

What is OSI?

Open Standards Interconnection was made by ISO (International Organization for Standardization) as the main framework for standardizing the communication between different endpoints within a network.

Basically, the OSI divides the communication process into two endpoints with seven groups of related functions. (layers). For example, if a message is sent to two computers: the data will flow through the seven layers through the network of the receiving computer.

Each layer services the layer above by tending and utilizing the services of the layer in the bottom. Having multiple layers allow for each layer to communicate, without impacting, or causing harm to the others.

You can explain a network’s operation as to how a city functions. You can start with roads, sewage, water, and then move onto education and public safety: all of these systems will work together to support the citizens residing in the city.

Like the seven-layer network system, you can’t have trash disposal without roads in place (one layer is used to support another), and you can create changes to the roads or rubbish disposal without impacting one another.


How Was the First OSI Model Created?

Internet Ethernet Cord

The origins of the OSI models has been directed back towards a group. The group was given the task to design and develop prototype systems in Honeywell Information Systems. It was started in the early 1970s: Charlie Bachman and Mine Canepa, both helped create this groundbreaking group.

At first, the work of the Honeywell group was based on a distributed database and database design. As their world leads to the mid-1970s, they realized the device would be distributed through multiple database machines and distributed access; some standardized communications architecture was needed.


So What Are the Seven Layers?

Register Your Domain Name on the Internet

Here are the seven layers that you can use for your software for network monitoring

  1. Physical: This is where the documentation begins. Here you will want to describe the devices in your network (routers, hardware, switches, etc.) as well as the cabling and patch panels.
  2. Data Link: This Layer helps makes the communication between the physical and network layers happen.
  3. Network: The network established how your data will be read in a different computer. Here the documentation will read the IP address, RAS Servers, WAN Links, internet connections, and VPNs.
  4. Transports: Do you know what ports your applicators use? There are two main protocols that you can use UDP and TCP. Here, you should document the port numbers that follow.
  5. Session: This layer ensures that a system can open communication connections remotely. Also, it allows for data to flow back and forth between both systems. Examples of session protocols are SSL, Telnet, and SSH. The network documentation has SSL sites and your policy for enabling SNMP for network management.
  6. Presentation: This layer will take your data and transform it into a format that’s understandable to a recipient. This is where all of your application’s certifications should be documented.
  7. Application: Your application layers control all of the applications that are used to deliver or obtain information (i.e.: the email system). Document the applications that are housed here, what versions they are and what contracts they hold.



When getting software for network monitoring, make sure that they respect the following layers of network organization. This will help your IT team respond to third party hackers and exterior threats, so think about using it, if you want your network to thrive.

Posted by Nipanan Lifestyle

Hello, I'm Nipanan. I love researching and creating engaging content to share with the world. Feel free to check out my website for more unique content.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *